Mayor & Council

The City of Washington, Kansas, has a Mayor-Council form of government.  There are five members on the City Council.  Mayor and council members are elected to four year terms, with three positions elected every two years. 

The City of Washington Mayor and Council work together for the citizens of our community. As leaders, they are committed to protecting the City of Washington assets through the encouragement of residents and businesses to become integral participants in our community.

Council Meetings

Council meetings are held the first Monday of each month at 6:30 pm, except when the Monday is a designated holiday; then the meeting shall be held on the following Tuesday. 

Council meetings are held at City Hall (301 C Street) and are open to the public.

Request to Be Placed on Council Agenda

If you or your organization/group would like to request to appear before the Council, you may complete the form below and submit it to the City Clerk's office. 

Notice of Vacancy